eFax's Website

Internet Fax Features

Available Numbers
  • USA/Canada Toll-Free
  • Local Number in Canada
  • Local Number in USA
  • International Local Numbers
Intl. Local Numbers
UK, Spain, France
Fax Sending
  • Email to Fax
  • Fax from Website
  • Fax to Multiple Recipients
  • Emailed Delivery Confirmation
  • Auto Re-Send
  • Multiple Docs per Fax
  • Fax Internationally
  • Unlimited Fax Storage
  • Transmission Scheduling
Fax Receiving
  • Fax to Email
  • Multiple Email Recipients
  • Never Busy Tone
  • Fax Forwarding
Additional Features
  • Fax Cover Pages
  • Fax Logs and Reporting
  • Fax E-Signatures
  • Outlook/Outlook Express Support
  • PDF Fax Downloads
  • TIFF Fax Downloads
  • Microsoft Office Integration
  • SSL Security

Contact Information

Phone Number
1 (866) 944 2980
Office Address
j2 Global Communications
6922 Hollywood Blvd., 5th floor
Los Angeles, CA 90028 USA
Sales Email
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Twitter

Coupons and Trials

Trial Offer
30-Day Free Trial - Click here to Try!

eFax Review eFax Hot

User rating
 
3.3 (17)

Over 11 million people use eFax every day for their fax communications. As a world-class Internet fax solution, eFax empowers you with many advantages, including the largest selection of local and toll-free fax numbers in over 3,500 cities and 48 countries around the world.

Using the convenience of the Internet, eFax enables you to quickly access faxes from your laptop, desktop or wireless device. Faxes are delivered as attachments directly to your email inbox. eFax is also compatible with Outlook and other popular email accounts.

Powered by a global network of cutting-edge servers, eFax provides unparalleled transmission security and maintains a 99.5% up-time. This means that you will never get a busy signal. Fax documents can also be stored for two years and are easily searchable. With all of these great benefits, eFax is the premier online fax solution.

  • RECEIVE FAXES - Get a real fax number. Receive faxes as email attachments. Accounts are activated in under 5 minutes.
  • SAVE MONEY - Smarter than a fax machine - no paper, extra fax line or maintenance needed. And it's free!
  • ANYWHERE ACCESS - Works everywhere you access email: home, office, and on the road. eFax even works wirelessly.
  • WHY EFAX?
    • Get a personal fax number
    • Works with any email account
    • Print faxes using your printer
    • Private and secure
    • 100% FREE!



If you use or have used eFax in the past, please share this page using the buttons above and be sure to leave a rating and review of the service so other people can make an informed buying choice based on your experiences! It's free and you are not required to register!


eFax Screenshot Gallery

eFax

eFax Reviews

Ratings (the higher the better)
Reliability*  
How many times has the service failed? If never, please rate a 10.
Features*  
Do you feel the service is missing features? If it has all the features you need, please rate a 10.
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the service to use? If you have never had a problem, please rate a 10.
Customer Support  
How helpful and efficient was Customer Support? If you have never used customer support, please choose No Rating.
Satisfaction*  
How satisfied are you with this service? If you are completely satisfied, If you have never had a problem, please rate a 10.
Comments*
 
eFax 2013-04-24 16:48:45 Jeremy
Overall rating 
 
0.5
Reliability 
 
0.5
Features 
 
0.5
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Reviewed by Jeremy    April 24, 2013

Beware

Terrible, terrible customer service. They advertise a month trial free before they start to charge you. Good luck being bounced around by their customer 'service' in your fruitless attempts to cancel your service. Tip, stay away from this company.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-03-08 21:31:00 Hossein Gh
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Reliability 
 
1.0
Features 
 
3.0
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Hossein Gh    March 08, 2013

Unethical provider, Disatisfied and still waiting to relove a $90 overcharge

I am on a basic plan that allows up to 150 pages of fax per month. they charged mmy credit card $12 every month in the past 15 months although i did not use it much.
In Februaury I happened to send more faxes. Watched my usage on their site to avoid the 150 page limit.
The catch is that the failed transmits are shown "0" pages in the usage/activity but as a matetr of fact thay are counted in the 150 page limit. You have no way of knowing this until they start to charge you $15 almost every time you send a fax.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-02-18 16:47:05 Fred Warren
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Reliability 
 
2.5
Features 
 
3.0
Ease of Use 
 
1.5
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Fred Warren    February 18, 2013

try FaxAge for better service & value

eFax customer service is the worst, offshore support with no real ability.
Expensive to boot.
I switched to FaxAge.com, which is by far the best value and great service / support.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-02-15 09:23:02 J
Overall rating 
 
0.7
Reliability 
 
0.5
Features 
 
0.5
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Reviewed by J    February 15, 2013

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

I have no idea how on Earth how a company like this is still in business. The product is a hit or miss, unreliable and the customer service people, OMG! They have 0 training and they are probably as rude as anyone you have ever talked to. Disgusting from beginning to the end. Stay away. Companies like this one should not exist. I also think that they own MyFax too with which my experience was not any better. I wish I knew that before.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-02-01 15:12:00 Gabe Andersen
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Reliability 
 
2.0
Features 
 
3.0
Ease of Use 
 
3.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Gabe Andersen    February 01, 2013

Not worth it, Difficult to cancel

There are so many ways around faxing that I'm not sure why the service is still there. This company ran me through the ringers trying to cancel my subscription. I sent them a email with all applicable data to cancel my account. They responded by tell me to call their 1-800 number. It takes about 6 minutes to make it to "cancel my account" and then they tell you to go online to cancel your account. Then you have to live chat with a person who tries to sell you on 4 other products they have. They refused to refund my account even though I had cancelled it the month prior.
Find another way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-01-08 16:36:59 eileen
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Reliability 
 
6.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
7.0
Customer Support 
 
1.5
Satisfaction 
 
1.5
Reviewed by eileen    January 08, 2013

caution

This is so easy to set up and start using, all can be done online, however, not so easy to get out of it, they are insisting on my telephoning to cancel because of authentication, however they didnt need me to ring before they started debiting y credit card !!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
eFax 2013-01-07 23:17:44 Michael Sharp
Overall rating 
 
0.6
Reliability 
 
0.5
Features 
 
0.5
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Michael Sharp    January 07, 2013

Stay away from e-fax. Unethical, lousy quality faxes and disrespectful.

I have a mdedical practice and FAX service is essential for patient care. We get medical records, prescription refill requests by FAX. For 2 weeks in August many of our incoming FAX were unreadable. Customer service was polite for the first few calls but when we called back it was clear they had no record of the calls (pleas really) we were making to get us up and operational. More importantly they could provide no explanation for what was going on and we got different stories every time we called.We were really having fun at that point. On one call, one of the customer service representatives said they recommend that medical and law practices have back-up FAX machines availble. He completely did not get how that makes E-fax solution uneconomical and completely impractical. We decided to port our phone number out and put that process in play but E-fax stalled us at every move and it took another 4 weeks to get that done. So all our pharmacies and patients are getting happy and in on the fun now. We have switched to RingCentral now and are having some trouble with their software but its way good compared.
Now here's where it gets good. E-fax kept billing our credit card and we just noticed. Our bad for sure but when we call them for the refund,1) they claim they still have the original number (they do not),2) that they gave us the number originally so they can't give us the refund (they did not we had it poreted to them from our previous telephone company), 3) we signed an agreement that the service could not be discontinue (can you imagine?). My belief about this company - they are run by crooks and don't give a damn about the service.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
eFax 2012-09-20 20:00:00 David G
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Reliability 
 
7.0
Features 
 
6.5
Ease of Use 
 
7.5
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
3.5
Reviewed by David G    September 20, 2012

Service OK, support very POOR.

We currently have about 40 fax numbers with eFax. The service itself is good when it works. The problem is they have zero regard for you as a customer. Just yesterday, they had an outage (no faxes coming in) which costs us money, literally. We order information from places and when we don't get the fax with the info, we have to order it again (pay twice). When I got a call from an employee wondering if efax was down, I had to say 'I don't know let me call them'. When I called them, I sat on hold for about 15 minutes (which I am ok with on a normal day) with no recording about an outage. When the person came on the phone I had to give them all of our account info (which I am ok with on a normal day). Then they ask, 'What seems to be the problem?'. I tell them we aren't getting faxes at which point they finally inform me that they are experiencing technical issues and nobody is receiving faxes. Nothing in the on hold recording, nothing on the website. Then a few hours later I jump on internet chat to find out the status of the outage. Again I had to give my account info, then was told I had to call the support number, the chat guy can't do anything with corporate accounts. I told him it isn't anything to do with my account, I just needed an update on the outage. "Sorry, you have to call the number". Today service was back up with no notification from efax that is was up, or why it was down in the first place.

A couple months ago we had one employee not getting faxes. I email efax support asking for assistance. 3 days later I heard nothing so I emailed again. 4 days later, still nothing so I emailed the sales team. The next day I get a response to the second email asking what my issue is. I reply immediately telling them the issue and asking if they got my first email. 2 days later they respond to the email I sent to sales. At that point I gave up and called support. I sat on hold for 90 minutes before hanging up. Called the next day and got through in 30 minutes and we solved the problem.

Bottom line, service is ok, but they hate their customers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
eFax 2012-08-19 16:01:10 Tim
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Reliability 
 
10.0
Features 
 
8.0
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Tim    August 19, 2012

For best results speak directly with a sales rep

I was hesitant about using this service and the web can be misleading with reviews. So I decided to give them a call at 1 (866) 944 2980 and speak with a rep. They were very knowledgeable and answered all my questions. I'm glad I picked up the phone and educate myself.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12
Report this review
eFax 2012-07-16 15:14:00 Kelly Keller
Overall rating 
 
0.5
Reliability 
 
0.5
Features 
 
0.5
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Reviewed by Kelly Keller    July 16, 2012

Poor Customer Service/Avoid at all costs

Giving efax 0.5 points is stretching it. I found the service very difficult to use, expensive, and when I wanted to cancel the service, unresponsive even to their own cancel account instructions. Their Customer Service call center is in India so expect to have a language barrier if you ever need customer support.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
eFax 2012-07-04 16:01:08 Tom Hanns
Overall rating 
 
0.9
Reliability 
 
0.5
Features 
 
1.0
Ease of Use 
 
1.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Tom Hanns    July 04, 2012

Avoid At All Costs

Literally the worst experience I have ever had with a tech company.

Their free trial is impossible to cancel. Hours on the phone and I still can't get rid of over $160 in charges for a service that didn't work and that I never utilized.

Terrible customer service. Borderline morals. And a business model clearly driven by the idea of stealing as many recurring charges as possible - regardless to the ethics of unauthorized transactions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
eFax 2012-05-30 17:43:38 David
Overall rating 
 
1.1
Reliability 
 
2.0
Features 
 
2.0
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Reviewed by David    May 30, 2012

Caution: Confirm That You've Canceled! I Paid Over $300 for a Service I Didn't Use.

If you think you've cancelled by phone (and be prepared for a long hold time when you do, by the way), confirm it! I just did the math, and it turns out I paid over $300 to eFax on an account I only used to receive a single fax almost two years ago--no other usage by me (although apparently there were a few spam faxes sent to the account). Since they had no record of my attempt to cancel by phone back in 2010, eFax wouldn't do anything for me (transcript is below). After this experience, I definitely wouldn't use this company again.

Please wait for a site operator to respond. You are currently number 1 of 1 in the queue. Thank you for your patience.
You are now chatting with 'Craig T.'
Craig T.: Hello, David. Welcome to eFax online support. I am Craig Thompson, your online Live Support Representative. How may I assist you?
David : I thought I cancelled this count over a year ago. I just saw that, since then, I've been billed, wow, it looks like over $200!
David : I thought this was cancelled over the phone?
Craig T.: I am glad to help you. Could you please provide me your fax number, registered email address and billing zip code for verification?
David : [Redacted personal info]
David : There's a 2010 fax for me, and then about 9 faxes from wrong numbers. I haven't used the service to send faxes.
Craig T.: Your account is active.
Craig T.: We are unable to locate any prior cancellation request and hence your account stands active.
Craig T.: There has been no phone contact made on this account.
David : I have used this to recieve 1 fax, back in 2010, and the rest of what's here was wrong numbers. I've never sent a fax.
Craig T.: There has been no cancellation request so the account remained active.
David : I've spent over $300, and I've only used this account to receive one fax two years ago.
Craig T.: The monthly subscription fee is charged irrespective of usage on the account.
David : You're comfortable charging me $17/month for a year and a half for a service I thought I cancelled (and didn't use during that whole time)?
Craig T.: There has been no cancellation request. This is your first contact with us. The monthly fee is charged as long as the account is active. It is charged irrespective of usage on the account.
David : Please cancel my account. I am disappointed you are not willing to do anything for me, since you can see that this was an unused account for over a year. I will post this transcript as a warning to others who might consider signing up for this service.
David : I really thought I called and cancelled, back in 2010. I understand you have no record of that, but I thought it was cancelled.
Craig T.: I apologize for the inconvenience. We cancel the account when you contact us to cancel. We can't cancel the account without your cancellation request.
Craig T.: I will go ahead and cancel your account.
Craig T.: Is there anything else I may assist you with?
David: I want to confirm that you refuse to refund any of the over $300 I've paid to efax since 2010?
Craig T.: There is no refund available on your account.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
eFax 2012-03-05 21:46:29 Grace
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Reliability 
 
9.0
Features 
 
10.0
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Grace    March 05, 2012

Positive Review

In looking up an answer to a question I had about my efax service, I came across this review site. All the reviews I read are negative. I realize that while there are people out there with good experiences, many choose not to review until something bad happens. I want people to understand that there are benefits to this service also. This is the second company I have worked at where we use the efax service and I was instrumental in establishing the service for both companies. We use the service in the U.S. and have no issues when sending or receiving faxes. The service was pretty easy to cancel when the first company closed and to my knowledge, no further billings were received. I have been able to modify the emails that receive notification without still receiving to the old email addresses and when we receive the faxes in our emails, they are in pdf format. The service use to require a special viewer but I believe that is no longer. I would recommend this as an alternative to a traditional fax machine any day as it assists in productivity and a company no longer has the issue of losing a fax.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21
Report this review
eFax 2011-06-25 14:47:12 Flemming
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Reliability 
 
1.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
6.0
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Flemming    June 25, 2011

eFax having problems to receive faxes in Spain

We signed up for the service in Spain and started testing, but the service did not work - the sending faxes reported error codes.

eFax support replied quickly that we should contact the manufacturers of the sending fax machines because that was where the problem was.

Of course that was too many companies to contact and as these faxes worked fine with all other machines we concluded the error to be with eFax.

A few weeks later we repeated the tests with the same problems and then decided to cancel the service.

Cancellation has to be done via phone, and we did so after the free trial had expired. They said that they knew about the problems in Spain but was looking to upgrade their system shortly and offered another 2 months free period. But as the service had been out of order for more than a month we said that they could contact us when it was confirmed ok again.

The reply was that we had paid for half a year and no refund would be given if we cancelled now even though they had technical problems making it impossible to receive faxes from Spain. Being a Spanish company this was of course not acceptable.

We will never use service again as we feel this is unfair, it does not work, and the company eFax does not correct their problems quick enough to be used in a business environment

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
eFax 2011-06-25 14:46:13 Cloud9
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Reliability 
 
3.0
Features 
 
3.0
Ease of Use 
 
3.0
Customer Support 
 
3.0
Satisfaction 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Cloud9    June 25, 2011

There's a reason their FREE service is free...

I've had a FREE efax recieve-only fax number for years. At first, it was great! For the 5-7 faxes I got, per year, it was a nice, paper-less, machine-less, cost-less solution. About a year or two ago, I noticed I wasn't getting faxes when I requested them. I called the sender and, each time, they would say, "I tried over and over, but it was just busy." That's NOT what I wanted to hear. I called efax and they said (somewhat rudely) there was no support for the FREE accounts. CUST SVC=3.

I did a little research on the 'net and other people had the same problem, but it was because of unused or abuse of service. I decided to give it another go and sign up again. I got a new number and the first time, it worked great. but, then again, within a few weeks, I had the same problem. RELIABILITY=3

In addition, they do not send faxes as PDF's for the free service, so you must manually convert them from their specific format to PDF, once you receive them. Not good for portability, like receiving faxes on a phone or in a library. EASE OF USE=3 / FEATURES=3.

I understand that it's a free account, but I really do only send and receive a few faxes per year, and paying $6+ per month used to seem a little wasteful (every dollar counts!). But free (or not!) it's just NOT worth the hassle, embarassment, explanations, etc. of having this service.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
eFax 2011-06-25 14:45:16 Florisz
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Reliability 
 
6.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
2.0
Customer Support 
 
2.0
Satisfaction 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Florisz    June 25, 2011

review efax

The product doesn't work well.
Support is olso bad.(You can't get rid of your subscription(keep receiving spam mail) When changing email address in account pages it just doesn't really accept this.(keep receiving emails from efax on my old email address)
The faxes you receive can only be opened with a special client application that you have to download.
For this client to install you need admin rights on the system you are on. Something you probably you don't have when on the road.
Also to convert to pdf with the client it needs to connect to some efax server over some strange port, which will probalby be blocked in a normal secured business network. >so pdf conversion not possible!

Conclusion: Try some other internet fax service. I have not found the ideal solution jet. Any suggestions?

Florisz

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
eFax 2011-06-25 14:44:16 Peter Colledge
Overall rating 
 
7.0
Reliability 
 
10.0
Features 
 
8.0
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Peter Colledge    June 25, 2011

sharp practice

I used efax successfully for a year. Efax automatically bills you after 12 months. I said I didn't want the service anymore as my business use had finished. Efax would not refund my annual subscription. I was a bit annoyed but hadn't followed the plot so I let it go. No problems yet. I then got in touch with them in Ireland and told them that as I was still paying for the service I might use it from time to time. The next I knew I received another bill for another year's subscription, with a different efax number. The Irish bloke (Efax works out of Ireland) I spoke with was completely unsympathetic and refused to do anything about it. I still get email bills from them but ignore them. Apart from this unfortunate episode, the service is good and efficient, well worth it. Just dot eyes and cross tees!

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review